Time to rig Scamp at boat ramp?

The place to discuss SCAMP (Small Craft Advisor Magazine Project), our 11' 11" micro minicruiser.

Moderator: Moderator

Somersjr
New Contributor

Time to rig Scamp at boat ramp?

Post by Somersjr »

I am new to the form and am considering building a scamp via the kit.
I have some questions however before making my final decision.

The first is how Long does it take to rig the Scamp at the boat ramp.
This would not be after a highway trip where everything was battened down.
My boat ramp is an easy 10 minute drive from my house.

Jim
Jim
Bradenton FL
Friends with SCAMPS
Major Contributor

Re: Time to rig Scamp at boat ramp?

Post by Friends with SCAMPS »

Depends.. Can you go in the middle of the night when no one will stop you to talk about how cute your boat is? That will make rigging go much faster.
knasman
Major Contributor

Post by knasman »

Jim,

My closest locale is similar to yours. With no wait at the ramp, my out the driveway to casting off is about 30min. I might save 5 min if I didn't have those darn lazyjacks always on the wrong side of the yard. I have to come up with a better stowage and setup.
Keith Nasman
SCAMP Zephyr #161
simeoniii
Recognized Old Salt

Post by simeoniii »

I've got it down to under ten minutes to remove forward trailering mast/boom/yard support, step mast, hoist sail (check lazy-jacks etc), and lower rig, ready to roll down the ramp. Until you get a good, repeatable step for the lazy-jacks stowage, it will drive you crazy.

I have a small SCAMP banner to hang over the aft quarter when I'm hanging about at the launch area. It has basic info on the SCAMP as well as the SCA web address and phone number. Easy to give a "Can't talk now, on-deadline" comment and point to the banner. Spectators really do slow you down at times.
Simeon
Voyaging with Noddy, #11
kenjamin
Recognized Old Salt

Post by kenjamin »

simeoniii wrote:...