Build of Hull 52

The place to discuss SCAMP (Small Craft Advisor Magazine Project), our 11' 11" micro minicruiser.

Moderator: Moderator

Peter E
Major Contributor

Build of Hull 52

Post by Peter E »

I thought I should share my build of the Scamp. I am not a professional builder in fact this my first boat build so you are invited along in the journey. There may not be any new ideas but I pick up a lot from others. Every once in a while there is a HAhaaa moment. A special thanks should go to Mike Monies and of course Jackie for the inspiration for the build. This is a build from plans and the build manual so some of this will not apply to a kit builder.

I will post pictures and a few comments on each. I will leave out a few details but if you have questions or comments feel free to respond

The building jig frame I put a piece of ply on top to serve as a table. I found that you can not have enough tables.
ppd3
Regular Contributor

Re: Build of Hull 52 ENVY!

Post by ppd3 »

Peter of SCAMP 52

You have actually started. Thanks for sharing your journey. I'll watch with great interest.

I am so very envious.

I HAVEN'T GOT A SHED!

Or a garage, or a carport, or even a spare room. I share an inner city Victorian terrace house in inner Sydney Australia with my wife, my 14 year old daughter and a White West Highland Terrier - no room for boat building, or eventual boat storage.

Congratulations

DIG :mrgreen: (green with envy)
Peter E
Major Contributor

Re: Build of Hull 52

Post by Peter E »

The lofting began on inexpensive ply and some 1/4" Masonite board I had left a previous project. For most pieces the edge of the ply served as a base line and measurements were taken from it. The bottom of the boat I made a base line lengthwise down the middle of the ply.