Plans only vs Pre-cut kit

The place to discuss SCAMP (Small Craft Advisor Magazine Project), our 11' 11" micro minicruiser.

Moderator: Moderator

JimB
New Contributor

Plans only vs Pre-cut kit

Post by JimB »

I have really enjoyed reading the archives of this forum and have finally decided that SCAMP is the boat I want to build. Now I am down to the decision of building from the plans only or purchasing and building from the pre-cut kit. If I have done the math correctly the cost of the complete pre-cut kit with foils, including tax and shipping comes to just under $4K. Marine plywood sheets, while still still expensive, would obviously be substantially less expensive. The trade-off of course is the time and energy saved working from a pre-cut kit and the accuracy with which the parts are produced.

I am an experienced woodworker with a pretty well equipped shop, although I don't have a ton of space. While money is not a huge issue (I could move forward with the project either way, eventually) I am not eager to spend a lot more than I need to. Balancing the money side is that my time to dedicate to boat-building is not limitless; I have a demanding job and a seasonal side business that keeps me somewhat busy in the spring and summer. Now, before someone suggests that I buy a fiberglass SCAMP or buy a used boat I will say that it is the building of the boat that interests me as much as the sailing of the boat, so I am committed to doing a build.

With all of that said, I would appreciate the insights of those who have gone before on which pathway to a finished SCAMP might be best for me - working from plans only or going the pre-cut kit route.
Timo
Regular Contributor

Re: Plans only vs Pre-cut kit

Post by Timo »

I have been building a SCAMP from the plans, although the project is not completed yet. Here are some thoughts based on my experiences:

Advantages
  • it is satisfying to see how the plywood sheets, little by little, turn into a boat